Heritage Park Museum of East Texas

SCHOOL TOURS

Heritage Park Museum with 21 restored and furnished circa 1900 buildings, is the perfect site for school tours.

The museum's education program which is designed for third and fourth grade students, offers tours of log cabins and business establishments depicting rural life around 1900, as well as different modes of travel, and an extensive antique tool collection.  The tour will offer the student a glimpse of the past, as the one to two hour learning experience includes demonstrations by costumed docents. 

Large tours are divided into groups of ten to fifteen to provide students the opportunity to experience a “hands-on” time during the visit.  Students are also given ten minutes in the museum’s gift shop where crafts and unique period items are available. Frequently, teachers elect to PICNIC at the museum and adequate facilities are available. 

Fall tours are usually scheduled in September and October.  Spring tours are given in March, April and May.  We encourage making reservation early as the popular months of October, April, and May are usually heavily booked. 

When planning field trips, please consider this historic village and book reservations by calling Linda Cline at 903-896-4220 or by emailing her at Lcline0316 @gmail.com.  Please provide contact information in all correspondence including contact person, school name, telephone number and email address. 

Admission: $5.00 

For your personal pleasure, we recommend visiting the museum the second Saturday in November for our annual HERITAGE FALL FESTIVAL Admission is free on this Saturday.

The Tom Cat Cafe was built in 1920 and was often referred to as "The Bloody Bucket" because of the many fights and wild drinking of bootleg whiskey.  It was a favorite stop for the notorious bank robbers Bonnie and Clyde.  


This one-room frame school house was built in Myrtle Springs.  This structure is authentically restored with 1920's era desks.
  



The Gilliam Grocery and Gas Station was located on Highway 80 from 1920 to 1965.  The original 1920's structure burned and was rebuilt in 1936.  Many stories were swapped around the store's old wood heater on rainy days. 

 

Water didn't come out of a faucet!
 

rustic fence 
Rustic Fence with Plow

This log barn is an example of a single-crib barn with animal stables and equipment storage.  The barn was one of the most important buildings on the farmstead.  


The Spradlin's log house, built in 1898, uses the "dogtrot" style commonly found in East Texas.  The breezeway in the middle was used for working and sleeping during the hot, sultry, dog-days of summer.

Well behind the Spradlin home.
 
 
Come get your hair cut in our barber shop!  One of the fun things to do during our festival!

The Scott cabin with its crude, square hewn and square notched logs was built in 1874 on Sabine River by James Scott. Scott, his wife and seven children lived in this cabin, the oldest structure in the Heritage Park Museum.
 
Website Builder